MIAC Wrestling Championship
Match Results
NCAA Qualifiers
Meet Info
MIAC Wrestling
Meet History
Regular Season
'99 Championship

2000 MIAC Wrestling Championship
Saturday, Feb. 26, 2000
Hosted by Concordia College, Moorhead, Minn.
Wrestling Home Pages | Augs | Carl | Cord | SJU | St. O | UST |

Meet Summary
By Don Stoner, Agusburg SID

Augsburg wins 14th straight MIAC wrestling championship, qualify 10 to NCAA championships

MOORHEAD, Minn. (2/26/00) - Augsburg College claimed its 14th consecutive Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference wrestling championship at Concordia-Moorhead on Saturday, winning nine of the 10 individual titles and qualifying all 10 wrestlers to next week's NCAA Division III national meet.

Augsburg has won 24 of the last 26 MIAC titles and 28 titles in the 51 years the MIAC has held a wrestling championship. The Auggies qualified all 10 individuals to the NCAA meet for the fourth year in a row. The NCAA championships will be held Friday and Saturday (3/3-4) at Ohio Northern University in Ada, Ohio.

Augsburg, rated No. 1 in the nation in the Division III national rankings, will attempt to claim its NCAA-record sixth national title next weekend. Augsburg  won five national titles in the 1990s and finished second last year by 1.5 points to Wartburg (Iowa).

Augsburg won the meet with 144.5 points, topping second-place St. John's University with 82.5. The Johnnies, rated 14th in the nation in Division III wrestling, won one individual title and qualified five wrestlers to the national meet.

St. Olaf was third with 53 points, qualifying one wrestler to the national meet. Concordia-Moorhead was fourth with 37.5 points, St. Thomas was fifth with 20.5 and Carleton was sixth with 15.5.

Augsburg's Josh Cagle (Sr., Faribault, Minn.) earned the Carl Larson Trophy, given to the outstanding wrestler of the meet by the conference coaches, for the second year in a row. Cagle, now 35-0, won two matches, one by a 19-2 technical fall, to win the 149-pound weight class.

Ben Bauer (Jr., Faribault, Minn.), Augsburg's heavyweight, claimed the Rory Jordan Trophy, given to the wrestler with the most pins in the least amount of time, for the second straight year. Bauer scored all three of his wins by pin in 7:15 to improve to 36-2 overall.

Jerry Pardue of Carleton College earned the MIAC's Coach of the Year award, voted on by fellow coaches.

Winning the other conference titles and qualifying for the national meet were: Darin Bertram (So., Herman, Minn./Herman-Norcross HS, 28-1 overall), Augsburg , 125 pounds; defending national champion John Marchette  (Jr., Canton, Ohio/North Canton Hoover HS, 28-2), Augsburg, 133 pounds; Brian Jones (Sr., Alexandria, Minn., 31-5), Augsburg, 141 pounds; Justin Baker (Sr., Kerkhoven, Minn./Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunberg HS, 25-7), 157 pounds; Jeremy Abfalter (Sr., Foley, Minn., 31-5), St. John's, 31-5; Nick Slack (So., Belle Plaine, Minn., 27-0), Augsburg, 174 pounds; Nik Lewandowski (Jr., Hastings, Minn., 29-7), Augsburg, 184 pounds; and Josh Clausen (Sr., Apple Valley, Minn., 28-1), Augsburg, 197 pounds.

Receiving the six "wild-card" bids for the national meet, as voted on by conference coaches following the event: Tony Abbott (So., Inver Grove Heights, Minn./St. Thomas Academy, 22-10), Augsburg, 165 pounds; Ryan Tietz (Sr., New Prague, Minn., 26-7), St. John's, 184 pounds; Brandon Novak (Jr., Becker, Minn., 26-2), St. John's, 197 pounds; Thor Apland (Sr., Minneapolis, Minn., 30-11), St. Olaf, 174 pounds; Adam Mergen (So., Richmond, Minn., 29-12), St. John's, 125 pounds; and Chris Gross (Sr., Blaine, Minn., 32-11), St. John's, 174 pounds.


This page is maintained by the Concordia Sports Information Office  | sid@cord.edu |