| Cobber Home |Help Us Recruit |
2003 Cobber Football

2003 Verizon Academic All-District Teams

| 2003 Football Verizon Academic All-District Teams |

Mitch Maxwell Named to the Verizon Academic All-District First Team.
- Jordan Talge Earns All-District Third Team Honors.
Mitch Maxwell
Marshall, Minn.
Was named to the Verizon Academic All-Disctict First Team.
Jordan Talge
Moorhead, Minn.
Was named to the Verizon Academic All-Disctict Third Team.

Senior offensive lineman Mitch Maxwell (Marshall, Minn., Marshall HS) was named to the prestigious Verizon Academic All-District First Team for football. The award honors the top student/athletes in each sport and is voted on by Sports Information Directors from across the region. Maxwell is now eligible to be selected to the Verizon Academic All-American Team. Teammate Jordan Talge (Jr., Moorhead, Minn./Moorhead HS) was named to the All-District Third Team.

Maxwell, a 3.65 Biology major, started all nine games this season and was a two-year starter. He was part of an offensive line ranked first in league in rushing at 287.4 yards per game. It is the second straight season that the Cobbers have led the conference in rushing offense. He helped pave the way so that quarterback Ryan Hebrink could set the school record for most offensive yardage in a career, and running back Bobby Clark to become only the third runner in school history to break the 2,000-yard rushing barrier.

He is one of five offensive lineman selected to the all-district team that will go on to the ballot for all-american honors. A total of 24 players make up the all-district first team.

Talge, a 3.647 Economics major, was the Cobber team captain in 2003. He was tied for the team lead in interceptions. He also finished tied for second in the MIAC in that statistical category. He finished tied for first in the league in passes defended. Talge was part of the the Concordia defense that finished first in the MIAC in rushing yards allowed.  He is the President of the Concordia Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) - a committee that he has served on for three years.


Academic All-District V College Division Football Honorees from Minnesota Colleges and Universities:
First team -- Keith Heckendorf, quarterback, St. Cloud State; Tim Battaglia, Minnesota-Duluth, wide receiver; Ryan Koch, St. Cloud State, wide receiver; Jake Theis, St. John's, running back; Adam Hoffmann, Augsburg, offensive line; Mitch Maxwell, Concordia-Moorhead, offensive line; Eric Mickelson, St. Cloud State, defensive back; Matt Wassink, Bethel, linebacker; Ben Kessler, St. Thomas, defensive line; Kris Storvick, Gustavus Adolphus, defensive line.

Second team -- Chad Davison, Minnesota State-Moorhead, wide receiver; Joel Russow, Martin Luther, running back; David Blaskowski, Winona State, offensive line; Bob Jeske, Minnesota State-Mankato, offensive line; Tim Nass, Martin Luther, offensive line; Adam Stubbendick, Gustavus Adolphus, offensive line; Paul Tschetter, Bethel, kicker; Sam Lacy, Bethel, defensive back; Matt Nicholson, St. Cloud State, defensive back; Jared Ziemke, Minnesota State-Mankato, defensive back; Brandon Fox, Augsburg, linebacker; Isaac Sieling, Gustavus Adolphus, linebacker; Joe Cullen, Augsburg, defensive line.

Third team -- Brian Senske, St. Olaf, quarterback; Jeff Lehn, Bethel, wide receiver; Billy Schreiber, St. Thomas, tight end; Jim Diley, St. John's, offensive line; Andrew Kaczor, St. Cloud State, offensive line; Blaine Thomas, Bemidji State, offensive line; Luke Muellerleile, Carleton, defensive back; Paul Sommerstad, St. Thomas, defensive back; Jordan Talge, Concordia-Moorhead, defensive back; Paul Gans, St. John's, linebacker; Andrew Wild, Carleton, linebacker; Quentin Anderson, Southwest Minnesota State, defensive line; Kyle Davenport, St. Thomas, punter.