| Cobber Home | Help Us Recruit |
2003 Cobber Football
| News | Schedule/Results | Roster | Stats | MIAC Race - Scores | FB Home | Coaches | 2002 | 2004 | Junior Varsity Schedule |

2003 Concordia Football Team Awards

| 2003 Concordia Football Team Awards |

Terry Horan Announces Postseason Awards.

(December 18, 2003 - Moorhead, Minn.)-- Concordia College football coach Terry Horan announced the annual end-of-the-year awards at the team's celebration banquet. Senior quarterback Ryan Hebrink (Sacred Heart, Minn./R-C-W HS) was named the team's Most Valuable Player for the third straight season. He is the school's all-time record holder in career offensive yardage (6,422), and also became only the fourth player in school history to rush for over 2,000 yards in a career.

Hebrink finished his career by being named to the All-MIAC First Team three consecutive years. He also ended his four years by breaking the old conference record of offensive yardage in a career set by Kurt Ramler of St. John's. Hebrink will finish second on the conference's all-time list as he was passed by Bethel quarterback Scott Kirchoff at the end of the year. Hebrink holds the Concordia school records for most offensive yards gained in a career, most rushing yards by a quarterback in a career, most rushing yards by a quarterback in a season and most passing touchdowns in a career.

Other repeat winners for the Cobber football awards were Bobby Clark (Sr., Seeley Lake, Mont./Seeley-Swan HS) as the team's Most Valuable Back and Most Valuable Special Teams Player, Josh Vickerman (Sr., Alexandria, Minn./Jefferson HS) as the team's Most Valuable Defensive Back and kicker Brian Halverson who shared the special teams honor with Clark.

Horan named five players as captains for the 2004 season. Jordan Talge (Jr., Moorhead, Minn./Moorhead HS) will  be a captain for the second consecutive season. Talge was named to the All-MIAC Second team and to the prestigious Verizon Academic All-District Third Team. He was tied for the team lead in interceptions. He also finished tied for second in the MIAC in that statistical category. He finished tied for first in the league in passes defended. Talge was part of the the Concordia defense that finished first in the MIAC in rushing yards allowed.

Joining Talge as captain will be Travis Christensen (Jr., Battle Lake, Minn./Battle Lake HS), Josh Dietz (Glencoe, Minn. / Glencoe-Silver Lake HS), Nick Didier (Jr., Helena, Mont./Capital HS) and Andrew Passanante (Jr., Hawley, Minn./Hawley HS). Christensen played in all ten games this season and was named to the All-MIAC Honorable Mention Team. Dietz was a First Team All-MIAC player this year. Dietz finished the season with 103 tackles, which is the most by a Cobber player since the 1990 season when Shayne Lindsay and Kevin Pavalko amassed 124 tackles apiece. Dietz has a three-year total of 181.5 tackles. He also ended the MIAC regular season seventh in tackles per game, with a 10.1 average. He helped the Cobbers' defense rank first against the run, holding opponents to only 115.9 yards per game.  Didier was a key member of the offensive line which helped lead the MIAC in rushing yards per game and second in total offensive yards per game. Passanante had his best season as a wide receiver. He was named to the All-MIAC First Team, and finished the season second in the conference in receiving yards per game.


2003 Concordia Football Team Awards

MIAC Honorable Mention:
Travis Christensen, Mark Halley, Jeremy Hinderks, Mitch Maxwell, Tanner Radermacher, Shawn Reile, Doug Runke, David Uselman

2004 Captains:
Travis Christensen, Josh Dietz, Nick Didier, Andrew Passanante, Jordan Talge

Team Awards:
Team MVP - Ryan Hebrink
Most Valuable Offensive Lineman - Nick Didier, Lance Mumm, Mitch Maxwell
Most Valuable Offensive Back - Bobby Clark
Most Valuable Defensive Lineman - Andrew Campbell
Most Valuable Defensive Linebacker/Back - Josh Vickerman, Josh Dietz
Most Valuable Special Teams Player - Bobby Clark and Brian Halverson
Most Valuable First-Year Player - Kevin Williamson

Coaches Awards:
True Grit - Chad Worthington
Scout Team Player of the Year - Mark Eaton

This page is maintained by the Concordia Sports Information Office sid@cord.edu |