| Track Home |
1977 Men's Track and Field

| Schedule & Results | Roster | MIAC Meet | Track Home | Cobber Home |

Cobber Men's track season saved by Fox wins

Trackman Steve Fox from Trimont, MN, had a strong year led by a double win in the MIAC track and field championship this spring. Fox won the 120-yard high hurdles in 14.4 seconds and the 440-yard intermediate hurdles in 54.0 seconds.

Fox  also  earned NAIA All-America status by finishing sixth in the 400-meter intermediate hurdles in the national Fox conference meet in Arkadeiphia, AR. Fox ran the race in 52.5 seconds. The top six finishers in each event earn the All-America tag from the national association.

Concordia placed fourth in the conference behind champion Hamline University. St. John's took second place and St. Thomas was third.

Fox, a junior next year at Concordia, was among three Cobbers who participated in post-season compeution as well. Nate Hanson, a returning senior from Crookston, MN, competing in the 800-meters, won in 1:52.5 seconds, and Bob Westland, from New Richland, MN, competed in the pole vault event. He graduated in May.

Coach Don Larson, who came from South Dakota State University to take over the duties of Ed Langsdorf for a one-year term, had a very successful year. Langsdorf returns to the staff after working on his doctorate at Arizona State. A former Cobber athlete himself, Langsdorf has built the Concordia track team into a contender in recent years. He also works with the football staff in the fall.

Men's Roster
D. Brunsvold, T. Myrin, J. Mutschelknaus, T. Thompson, T. Reitan, T. Rasmusson, S. Graves, B. Shepley, G. Jerve, K. Mears. P. Brown, P. Ludkte, D. Freeman, S. Grill, R. Plankers, R Westlund, D. Mickelson, B. Beliveau, A. Benson, M. Ranum, S. Fox, B. Schrank, D. Bandy, K. Baldwin, M. Kohler, R. Lund, B. Senske, M. Paul, J. Monson, M. Eisert, L. Schultz, D. Grinaker, E. Isom, B. Westlund, L. Seljevold, N. Hanson, J. Burkhardt. P. Hadlund, and S. Clute

Men's Schedule

MIAC Championships
Concordia placed fourth in the conference behind champion Hamline University.