Leah Kay will be making her third consecutive trip to the NCAA Outdoor Meet as she qualified in both the heptathlon and high jump.
Kay Gives Cobbers 28 Straight!

Courtesy of GoCobbers.com, Release: May 24, 2010

Meet Menu:

NCAA Outdoor Meet Website:

NCAA Division III National Meet Website

Baldwin-Wallace National Meet Website

NCAA Outdoor Meet Qualifiers:

NCAA Division III National Meet Qualifiers

NCAA Outdoor Meet Heat Sheet:

NCAA DIII National Meet Heat Sheet

NCAA DIII National Meet Heptathlon Heat Sheet

Past Concordia NCAA Meet Paricipants :

History of Cobber NCAA Meet Participants

MOORHEAD, Minn. (5/24/10)-- For the third straight season Cobber senior Leah Kay (Dassel, Minn./Dassel-Cokato HS) will be making the journey to the NCAA Division III Outdoor National Championship Meet. Kay qualified in both the heptathlon and high jump it was announced on Monday by the NCAA National office in Indianapolis, Ind.

It will be the fifth national meet appearance for Kay who has participated in the 2008 and 2009 outdoor national meet and the 2009 and 2010 indoor national meet. Kay is a five-time All-American who finished eighth in the heptathlon last year and fifth in 2008.

Kay's appearance at the NCAA National Outdoor Meet will mark the 28th consecutive year that Concordia has sent at least one athlete to NCAA National Outdoor Meet. The Cobbers have had at least one athlete qualify for the NCAA meet since the school entered the NCAA in 1983.

Kay qualified for nationals in the heptathlon on two separate occasions this season but her highest total came at the Drake Relays where she scored a personal best mark of 4,442 points. That total is the 10th best in the nation this season. Kay finished third in the heptathlon at the MIAC Meet where she finished with a final total of 4,391 points. She finished her career by finishing in the top 3 in the heptathlon all fours years at the conference meet.

Kay posted her qualifying mark in the high jump at the MIAC Outdoor Championship Meet. She won the conference event with a height of 5-05. It was the first time in her career that she won the outdoor conference high jump. Kay also qualified for nationals in the high jump in her sophomore season. At that NCAA Meet she cleared 5-04.50 and finished in a tie for eighth place to earn her second All-American honor of the meet.

Kay will compete in the heptathlon on Thursday, May 27 beginning at 1 p.m. The competition will continue on Friday, May 28 starting at noon. She will then participate in the high jump on Saturday, May 29 beginning at 11:30 a.m.


2010 - Leah Kay

2009 - Leah Kay

2008 - Leah Kay & Katherine Brott

2007 - Heather Schuster

2006 - Angie Pfeiffer & Natalie Hanson

2005 - Nicole Plante, Angie Pfeiffer, Natalie Hanson,

Alissa Bilden & Kelly Olson

2004 - Nicole Plante, Angie Pfeiffer, Amy Ravenhorst, Alissa Bilden & Kelly Olson

2003 - Angie Pfeiffer, Nicole Plante & Mariah Mougey

2002 - Kelli Tranby & Mariah Mougey

2001 - Heidi Brenden, Alicia Tull

2000 - Sara Grineski, Maria DeBoer & Karyn Senst

1999 - Heidi Brenden, Margaret Cropp, Maria DeBoer & Sara Grineski

1998 - Maria DeBoer, Laura Utke, Becky Kearns, Heidi Brenden, Sarah Severson, Amanda Glas,

1997 - Renee Erickson, Becky Kearns, Mollee Ludtke & Sarah Severson

1996 - Renee Erickson, Shannon Frey, Sarah Severson

1995 - Renee Erickson, Tracy Bernsten, Mollee Ludtke, Merrilee Rutherford, Britt Jacobson, & Michelle Haugen

1994 - Renee Erickson, Tracy Bernsten,

Merrilee Rutherford, Eryn Anderson, Michelle Haugen, Kristi Berger, Taria Heinen & Lydia Kubaka

1993 - Merrilee Rutherford, Eryn Anderson &

Lydia Kubaka

1992 - Kris Kuehl

1991 - Kris Kuehl

1990 - Kris Kuehl

1989 - Kris DeBoer, Shelly Jader, Chris Fredrick, Jill Farver, Kris Kuehl & Lisa Conzemius

1988 - Michelle Jolie, Kris DeBoer, Mary Line, Tammy Krell, Chris Frederick & Ann McKenna

1987 - Tammy Krell, Mary Line, Vonni Arndt, Ann McKenna, Michelle Jolie & Kris DeBoer

1986 - Cynthia Bogatzki, Pamela Olsgaard, Tammy Krell & Mary Line

1985 - Cynthia Bogatzki, Mary Line, Tammy Krell, Ann McKenna, Pamela Olsgaard & Marion Strand

1984 - Linda McDuffy, Sharyl Geisert, Pamela Olsgaard, Cindy Bogatzki, Lynette Dyrdahl, Elizabeth Vitalis & Marion Strand

1983 - Lynette Dyrdahl, Kristine Freeman, Margo Roim, Cheryl Richter, Rachel Pietsch & Pamela Olsgaard