Concordia goalie Jenna Johnson and defenseman Ceara Bergrsud (#2) were honored with MIAC postseason awards.

A Pair Of Cobbers Honored!

Courtesy of, Release: March 1

Complete List of MIAC Women's Hockey Awards

ST. PAUL, Minn.-- Two Concordia standout players were honored with MIAC postseason awards the league announced on Wednesday. Senior goalie Jenna Johnson (Wadena, Minn./Wadena-Deer Creek HS) was named to the MIAC All-Conference Team and sophomore defenseman Ceara Bergsrud (Devils Lake, N.D.) was placed on the All-Conference Honorable Mention Team.

It is the first time for both players to earn a postseason award, and the first time since the 2002-03 season that the team has placed more than one player on the MIAC All-Conference Teams.

Johnson has been a stalwart in goal for the Cobbers for four seasons. She capped her career by coming up with huge wins over nationally-ranked St. Thomas and Augsburg to finish off the season. She finished the year with three shutouts, the most in her career.

She also posted a career-best 2.97 goals against average in 2005-06 and had a save percentage of 90.1%.

Johnson was sixth in the MIAC in goals against average, posting a 2.68 average in her 18 league games. She was also fifth in the league in save percentage (91.1%).

Bergsrud was the captain of the team and the defensive leader. She finished the year tied for the team lead in scoring in conference games with five goals and four assists for nine points. She also led the team in shots in conference games and overall games. Bergsrud finished among the top 15 in scoring by a defenseman.

2005-06 MIAC Women's Hockey

All-Conference Awards

MIAC All-Conference Team

Name School Pos Yr
Ashley Andrews St. Thomas For. Jr.
Lindsey Boeser St. Olaf For. So.
Susannah Brokl St. Olaf For. Jr.
Jackie Carroll St. Thomas For. Fy.
Kelly Crandall Gustavus For. Jr.
Margaret Dorer Gustavus Def. So.
Molly Doyle Gustavus For. So.
Heidi Govednik Bethel For. Sr.
Marie Gross Hamline Def. So.
Mari Gunderson Gustavus For. Fy.
Maureen Hardwick St. Thomas For. Sr.
Katie Jetland St. Thomas G Jr.
Angie Johnson St. Catherine For. Jr.
Jenna Johnson Concordia G Sr.
Lisa Kinney Bethel For. Sr.
Tiffany Magnuson Augsburg For. Fy.
Melissa Mondo St. Mary's For. Jr.
Andrea Peterson Gustavus Def. Jr.
Abby Randall Gustavus Def. Sr.
Tanaya Reitz St. Thomas For. Sr.
Beth Spurrier Bethel G Fy.
Maggie Toft St. Thomas Def. Jr.
Lindsay Weier St. Olaf Def. Sr.

MIAC Player of the Year
Andrea Peterson Gustavus (Junior, Defense)

Shelia Brown Award (Senior Leadership)
Lisa Bush St. Benedict For. Sr. Shoreview, Minn.

MIAC Coach of the Year
Mike Carroll Gustavus Adolphus College

MIAC All-Rookie Team:
Alicia Behr St. Benedict Def. Fy.
Jackie Carroll St. Thomas For. Fy.
Mari Gunderson Gustavus For. Fy.
Liz Haakenson Gustavus Def. Fy.
Tiffany Magnuson Augsburg For. Fy.
Beth Spurrier Bethel G Fy.

MIAC Honorable Mention All-Conference:
Alicia Behr St. Benedict Def. Fy.
Katie Bennett St. Olaf For. So.
Ceara Bergsrud Concordia Def. So.
Joccie Cookson Augsburg For. Sr.
Janae Fabini St. Olaf For. So.
Sandra Felten Bethel For. Fy.
Kitty Hurley Gustavus G Jr.
Nikki Jung St. Mary's G Jr.
Steph Kendrick St. Benedict For. Fy.
Becky Kilpatrick St. Thomas G Sr. n.
Amie Lorence Bethel Def. So.
Calla Lundquist Augsburg Def. Sr.
Laura Mueller St. Mary's For. Jr.
Bethany Murphy Bethel For. Fy. .
Jenny Pusch Gustavus For. Fy.
Val Rodriguez St. Mary's Def. So.
Stefanie Ubl Gustavus Def. So.