Concordia hosted the annual Cobber Open on Saturday, Nov. 21 in Memorial Auditorium.

2009 Cobber Open Results!

Courtesy of, Release: November 21

Complete Cobber Open Results Now Online:

- Individual Weight Class Results (pdf)

2009 Cobber Open Finals Results

125-- Angel Olea (Dickinson St.) pin

Corey Ulmer (MSU Moorhead); 2:09
133-- Evan Forde (MSU Moorhead) dec.

Shane McQuade (St. Cloud St.); 5-3
141-- Ben Anderson (Concordia) dec.

Brady Schneeberger (MSU Moorhead); 6-1
149-- Jake Tabbert (St. Cloud St.) dec.

Alex Kontz (St. Cloud St.); 1-0
157-- John Sundgren (St. Cloud St.) pin

Tallen Wald (MSU Moorhead); 5:55
165-- Tad Merritt (St. Cloud St.) pin

Lane Lunde (Concordia); 6:30

174-- Cameron Schrempp (Dickinson St.) dec.

Jarrett Hall (MSU Moorhead); 8-7

184-- Phil Moenkedick (Concordia) dec.

Derek Skala (St. Cloud St.); 6-0
197-- Lucas Munkelwitz (St. Cloud St.) dec.

Dusty Vliem (Univ. of Mary); 8-2
285— Jake Kahnke (St. Cloud St.) dec.

Tim Johnson (MSU Moorhead); 5-1

Meet Recap
MOORHEAD, Minn. (11/22/08)--Concordia hosted the annual Cobber Open on Saturday, Nov. 21 in Moorhead. There were seven different teams competing in the meet which featured several of the top individuals from the region. St. Cloud State came away with the most individual champions as they had four wrestlers win their individual weight class. The Cobbers, MSU Moorhead and Dickinson State all had a pair of weight class champions.

For the entire meet Concordia had 13 wrestlers place in the top six of their weight class. Concordia had at least one wrestler make the top six in nine of the 10 weight classes.

Concordia juniors Ben Anderson and Phil Moenkedick were the two Cobber weight class winners. Anderson went 4-0 and captured the title at 141. Moenkedick remained unbeaten on the year as he cruised through three matches and won the championship at 184. It is the third consecutive Cobber Open title for Moenkedick who is now 9-0 in his first three Cobber Open meets.

Anderson won his first match by a major decision and then had to grind out three straight decisions to earn the championship. He downed Brady Schneeberger of MSU M 6-1 in the final match. Moenkedick was only challenged in his semifinal match. He pinned his first opponent then outpointed Mic Berg of St. Cloud State 7-4 in the semis before blanking Derek Skala, also of SCSU, 6-0 in the championship.

Lane Lunde was the other Concordia wrestler to reach the championship match. Lunde lost in the title tilt to NCAA Divsion II opponent Tad Merritt of St. Cloud State. Like Moenkedick, it was Merritt's third straight Cobber Open title. Lunde won his first two matches by technical fall and then came away with a 4-2 decision over Tyler Kivel of MSU Moorhead.

The Cobbers had six wrestlers earn fourth-place finishes. Josh Kelly went 4-2 and finished fourth at 125. Hieu Pham was fourth at 133 with a similar 4-2 record. Justin Horne was 3-2, and finished fourth at 141. Freshman Kevin Fynboh won four matches and finished fourth at 157. Nathan Schmitz went 3-2 and eraned fourth place at 197 and Tom Bouressa won two matches to claim fourth at 285.

Concordia will take a two-week break for the Thanksgiving holiday before returning to action at the MSU Moorhead Dragon Open on Dec. 5.