| Cobber Home | Help Us Recruit |
2002 Cobber Football
| News | Schedule/Results | Roster | Stats | MIAC Race - Scores | FB Home | Coaches | 2001 | 2003 |
| Cobber Preview Info |
Season Game Info: | MSU | GAC | Beth | Carl | Ham | Augs | Stout | SJU | St. O | UST |

2002 Concordia Football Team Awards

| 2002 Concordia Football Team Awards |
Ryan Hebrink
Sacred Heart, Minn.
Was named the MVP of the Concordia football team for the second consecutive season.

(December 18, 2002 - Moorhead, Minn.)-- Concordia College football coach Terry Horan announced the annual end-of-the-year awards. Junior quarterback Ryan Hebrink was named the team's Most Valuable Player for the second straight season. He was also named one of the four captain's for next year's squad.

Hebrink was honored as the 2002 MIAC First Team quarterback. It is the second consecutive year that he has earned MIAC All-Conference First Team honors. He helped the Cobbers to second in the MIAC (from a 4-5 record in 2001 to a 7-1 mark in 2002), and in the process set school record for most rushing yards by a QB in a single season. His season total places him 5th on the school's all-time list for most total yards in a single season by a QB. He was 6th in the MIAC in scoring - the top QB in the MIAC in scoring. He was also voted the MIAC Offensive Player of the Week twice during the 2002 season.

Joining Hebrink as captain will be Bobby Clark, Josh Vickerman and Jordan Talge. Clark was voted to the 2002 2nd Team All-MIAC for both rushing and kick returning. It is also his second consecutive year to be named to the all-conference team. He was 2nd in the MIAC in punt return yardage, and 2nd in the MIAC in all-purpose yardage per game (175.1/game). Clark led the Cobbers in scoring and TD's.

Vickerman enjoyed a tremendous comeback season. After sitting out almost the entire 2001 season with a knee injury, Vickerman led Concordia in interceptions, pass break-ups and fumbles recovered. He was second in the league in interceptions.

Talge was one of the stars of the defense that allowed fewest total yards per game (255.9 yards/game) in the conference and also the fewest rushing yards per game (77.0 yards/game) in the conference. He helped solidify the defensive backfield by intercepting two passes and making 35 tackles on the year. He was also named to the MIAC All-Conference Honorable Mention Team.

2002 Concordia Football Team Awards

MIAC Honorable Mention:
Dustin Little, Nick Didier, Jake Olson, Shawn Reile, Jeremy Hinderks, Jordan Talge, Evan Emmerich, Derek Fischer.

2003 Captains:
Bobby Clark, Ryan Hebrink, Jordan Talge, Josh Vickerman

Team Awards:
Team MVP - Ryan Hebrink
Most Valuable Offensive Lineman - Dustin Little and John Holt
Most Valuable Offensive Back - Bobby Clark
Most Valuable Defensive Lineman - Barry Bennett and Derek Flann
Most Valuable Defensive Back - Josh Vickerman
Most Valuable Special Teams Player - Bobby Clark and Brian Halverson
Most Valuable First-Year Player - Ryan Johnson

Coaches Awards:
True Grit - Chris Lebsock and Erik Hanson
Scout Team Player of the Year - Matt Kleber

This page is maintained by the Concordia Sports Information Office sid@cord.edu |