1996-97 MIAC Men's Basketball Schedule

Most Recent Games 

MIAC Standings MIAC Playoffs NCAA Tournament

Fri. November 15

Macalester 98 Brandon, Canada 96 ot (exh)
Sat. November 16

Macalester 89 Brandon, Canada 79 (exh)
Fri. November 22

Bethel 65  Northwestern SP 73 at Bethel Tip-Off Tourney 6:30
Sat. November 23

St. John's 87 St. Anselm 95 

      @ Benedictine Tourney-St.Vincent College in Latrobe, PA

Bethel 117 North Park 107 Bethel Tip-Off Tourney 8:30
Sun. November 24

St. John's 59 Benedictine 80 at Benedictine Tourney-St. Vincent College

UM-Crookston 46 Augsburg 85

Mt Senario 83 Carleton 100
Mon. November 25

St. Thomas 69 Northwestern 45

Gustavus 66 Luther 85

Mt. Senario 66 St. Olaf 79
Tues. November 26

Concordia-SP 55 Augsburg 83  

Hamline 98 St. Scholastica 90 

Concordia 81 Moorhead State 92
Fri. November 29

Carleton 71 Hawaii Pacific 92 Brigham Young Tourney in Hawaii

Bethel 67  Viterbo 70 at Viterbo Tourney in LaCrosse,WI
Sat. November 30

Carleton 86 BYU-Hawaii 95 Brigham Young Tourney in Hawaii

Lewis University 87 St. Mary's 50

Bethel 72  UW Superior 78 @Viterbo Tourney in LaCrosse,WI

St. Thomas 50 Concordia in Irving, CA 53

St. John's 77 Concordia-SP 73
Mon. December 2

Wartburg 67 Augsburg 72

Concordia-SP 49 Gustavus 70
Tues. December 3

North Central 56 Macalester 95

Carleton 62 Chaminade University 75

St. Olaf 88 Northwestern (Roseville) 90 2 OTs

St. Thomas 55 Grand Canyon U 81
Wed. December 4

Hamline 82 Concordia-SP 71

Winona State 84 St. Mary's 58

UW-River Falls 51 St. John's 75 



Thur. December 5

Augsburg 69 St. Scholastica 81
Sat. December 7

Carleton 64 St. Thomas 66

Gustavus 76 Bethel 60

Concordia 70 St. John's 73

Macalester 74 Hamline 76

St. Mary's 53 Viterbo 68
Mon December 9

St. Mary's 55 Macalester 68

Augsburg 74 St. Olaf 69



Wed. December 11

Carleton 65 St. John's 72

St. Olaf 70 Bethel 86

Gustavus 69 Concordia 62

St. Thomas 80 St. Mary's 56

Macalester 40 Augsburg 65

Hamline 76 UW-River Falls 85
Sat. December 14

Concordia 64 Carleton 95

St. John's 68 St. Olaf 81

Bethel 59 Augsburg 68

Hamline 55 St. Thomas 71

Gustavus - Bye
Sat. December 21

Concordia-SP 73 St. Thomas 89
Sat. December 28

Gustavus 91 Concordia U-Irvine 82 ot



Sun. December 29

Macalester 48 UW-River Falls 60 @ River Falls Tourney

St. Olaf 82 CA Lutheran 90 @ CA Lutheran Tourney
Mon. December 30

Illinois Benedictine College 71 St. Mary's 57 

Macalester 82 Texas Wesleyan 87 @ River Falls Tourney

St. Olaf 83 Bethany (Kan.)55 @ CA Lutheran Tourney
Tues. December 31

Gustavus 52 UC-San Diego 59



Sat. January 4

Carleton 75 Macalester 68 

St. Thomas 67 St. Olaf 70

Gustavus 55 Augsburg 48

Hamline @ St. John's ppd due to weather, make up Jan 20

Concordia 85 St. Mary's 75

Bethel - Bye



Mon. January 6

Bethel 70 Carleton 86

St. Olaf 66 Gustavus 70

St. Mary's 73 Hamline 99

Concordia 78 Macalester 56

Augsburg 58 St. Thomas 56

St. John's - Bye



Wed. January 8

Hamline 72 Carleton 96

St. Olaf 78 Concordia 73

St. Mary's 58 Gustavus 67

Augsburg 64 St. John's 82

Bethel 88 Macalester 65

St. Thomas - Bye



Sat. January 11

Carleton 95 Augsburg 58

St. Olaf 66 Macalester 54

Gustavus 81 Hamline 63

St. John's 61 St. Mary's 55

St. Thomas 71 Bethel 74

Concordia - Bye



Mon. January 13

Gustavus 69 Carleton 61

St. John's 66 Macalester 63

St. Mary's 66 Bethel 79

Concordia 47 St. Thomas 62

Augsburg 78 Hamline 81

St. Olaf - Bye



Wed. January 15

Carleton 83 St. Olaf 73

St. Thomas 67 Gustavus 58

Bethel 69 St. John's 89

Augsburg 56 St. Mary's 69

Hamline @ Concordia 7:30 ppd to Jan 27

Macalester - Bye



Sat. January 18

St. Mary's 59 St. Olaf 70

Macalester 51 Gustavus 55

St. John's 40 St. Thomas 45

Concordia 77 Augsburg 83

Hamline 96 Bethel 90 ot

Carleton - Bye
Mon. January 20

Northwestern-Roseville 68 Macalester 59

Hamline 62 St. John's 82



Wed. January 22

Carleton 86 St. Mary's 54

St. Olaf 83 Hamline 76

Gustavus 60 St. John's 73

Macalester 55 St. Thomas 90

Augsburg - Bye
 Thursday  January 23

 Bethel 72 Concordia 85





Sat. January 25

St. Thomas 87 Carleton 85

St. Olaf 85 Augsburg 96

Bethel 62 Gustavus 69

St. John's 71 Concordia 75

Macalester 74 Hamline 78



St. Mary's - Bye
Mon. Jan. 27

Hamline 59 Concordia 72
Wed. January 29

St. John's 63 Carleton 71

Bethel 70 St. Olaf 72

Concordia 45 Gustavus 65

St. Mary's 60 St. Thomas 69

Augsburg 77 Macalester 62

Hamline - Bye
Thurs. January 30

Northwestern 88 Hamline 73



Sat. February 1

Carleton 64 Concordia 85

St. Olaf 80 St. John's 75 ot

Macalester 61 St. Mary's 74

Augsburg 82 Bethel 70

St. Thomas 67 Hamline 68

Gustavus - Bye



Mon. February 3

Macalester 58 Carleton 90

St. Olaf 75 St. Thomas 65

Augsburg 68 Gustavus 78

St. John's 72 Hamline 80

Bethel - Bye



Wed. February 5

Carleton 87 Bethel 80

Gustavus 75 St. Olaf 64

Hamline 70 St. Mary's 75

Macalester 59 Concordia 84

St. Thomas 74 Augsburg 70

St. John's - Bye
Sat. February 8

Carleton 92 Hamline 79

Concordia 87 St. Olaf 72

Gustavus 65 St. Mary's 58

St. John's 74 Augsburg 94

Macalester 88 Bethel 89 2ot

St. Thomas - Bye
Mon. February 10

St. Mary's 61 Concordia 63
Wed. February 12

Augsburg 70 Carleton 65

Macalester 52 St. Olaf 61

Hamline 75 Gustavus 90

St. Mary's 56 St. John's 67

Bethel 53 St. Thomas 72

Concordia - Bye



Sat. February 15

Carleton 74 Gustavus 65 OT

Macalester 67 St. John's 97

Bethel 54 St. Mary's 53 

St. Thomas 51 Concordia 59

Hamline 74 Augsburg 90

St. Olaf - Bye



Mon. February 17

St. Olaf 69 Carleton 73

Gustavus 62 St. Thomas 77

St. John's 81 Bethel 70

St. Mary's 63 Augsburg 81

Concordia 78 Hamline 91

Macalester - Bye





Wed. February 19

St. Olaf 58 St. Mary's 47

Gustavus 75 Macalester 61

St. Thomas 61 St. John's 65

Augsburg 71 Concordia 76

Bethel 89 Hamline 98

Carleton - Bye





Sat. February 22

St. Mary's 54 Carleton 76

Hamline 77 St. Olaf 79

St. John's 63 Gustavus 67

Concordia 78 Bethel 74

St. Thomas 63 Macalester 54

Augsburg - Bye
2/27  MIAC Playoffs  

 Augsburg 62 Gustavus 80

 St. Thomas 67 Carleton 70
3/1 Carleton 55 Gustavus 57
 
Division III NCAA See NCAA Division III Bracket 

First round Thursday 3/6 & 8

NCAA Division III 

West/Great Lakes Regional Games

First Round

Thursday, March 6

Gustavus 82, Wisconsin-Whitewater 67

Hope 69, Denison 66

Wooster 84, Ohio Northern 58

Nebraska Wesleyan 93, Buena Vista 54

Wittenberg 83, John Carroll 68

Mount Union 77, Alfred 69

Wisconsin-Stevens Point 68 at Pomona-Pitzer 58

Wisconsin-Platteville 51, Wisconsin-Oshkosh 43



Second Round



Saturday, March 8

Gustavus 59 vs. Neb. Wesleyan 61

Hope 67, Wooster 56

Mount Union 73, Wittenberg 65

Wis.-Stevens Point 46, Wis.-Platteville 43
Section Semifinals Friday March 14 or Saturday March 15

West Regional

at Lincoln, Neb.

Semifinals 3/14

Wis.-Stevens Pt. 68, Mount Union 67, OT

Nebraska Wesleyan 92, Hope 75



Championship 3/15

Nebraska Wesleyan 69, Wis.-Stevens Point 66



Semifinals Friday, March 21 at Salem, Virginia

Williams (27-3) 90 Illinois Wesleyan (28-2)101

Alvernia (26-5) 82 vs. Nebraska Wesleyan (25-5)85



Saturday, March 22

third-place game 

Alvernia (26-6) 77 Williams (28-3)78

Championship and

Illinois Wesleyan (28-2) 89 Nebraska Wesleyan (25-5)86
See NCAA Division III Bracket
Men's Basketball

1996-97 Cobber Basketball Update


Cobber Sports Home Page Concordia Home Page